
Nigeria's Federal Government has released funds for the payment of academic tools allowances to university and polytechnic staff. According to Channels TV, Minister of Education Tunji Alausa said the payment is being implemented in line with the 2025 Federal Government of Nigeria–Academic Staff Union of Universities (FGN–ASUU) Agreement.
AI summary. Verify with the original source.
Read full story at Channels TV ↗
Listen
Unlock audio summaries, audio summaries, AI chat, Wikipedia facts, and ad-free reading.
$3.99 / month · cancel anytime
Go PremiumBackground facts
Unlock wikipedia facts, audio summaries, AI chat, Wikipedia facts, and ad-free reading.
$3.99 / month · cancel anytime
Go PremiumSimilar stories

The Federal Government of Nigeria has approved the immediate and full payment of the Consolidated Academic Tools Allowance (CATA) to academic staff in federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education for the period January to August 2026. According to the Daily Post, Minister of Education Dr Tunji Alausa disclosed the approval on Wednesday shortly after inaugurating the Ministerial Committee on Accreditation.
Daily Post (NG)·September 9, 2026 at 1:52 PM
The Federal Government of Nigeria has paid the Consolidated Academic Tools Allowance to lecturers in federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education, according to Punch. The payment applies to academic staff across the country's federal tertiary institutions. Further details on the amount disbursed or the timing of the payments were not provided in the report.
Punch·September 9, 2026 at 2:25 PM
The Nigerian Federal Government has paid an eight-month tools allowance to university and polytechnic lecturers, according to PM News. Earlier, the government had directed vice-chancellors to ensure the immediate clearance of outstanding payments and to refund any funds that universities had drawn from internally generated revenue to cover the allowance. The payment addresses a backlog owed to academic staff, though the report does not specify the total amount disbursed or the number of lecturers affected.
PM News (NG)·September 9, 2026 at 2:12 PM
The Federal Government of Nigeria has paid the Consolidated Academic Tools Allowance (CATA) covering January to August 2026 for academic staff of universities, polytechnics and colleges of education, according to the Minister of Education, as reported by ThisDay Live. The settlement applies to lecturers and other academic personnel across the country's tertiary institutions.
ThisDay Live·September 9, 2026 at 1:23 PM
Nigeria's Minister of Education, Dr Olatunji Alausa, has urged Vice-Chancellors of the country's public universities to urgently diversify their sources of funding, according to Tribune Online. The minister warned the university leaders to reduce their reliance on traditional government funding and explore alternative revenue streams. The charge was directed at the leadership of public universities across Nigeria, though specific details of the proposed funding models were not disclosed in the report.
Tribune Online (NG)·September 8, 2026 at 5:11 PM
Dr. Tunji Alausa, the Minister of Education, has supported the University of Benin's (UNIBEN) N100 billion Trust Development Fund, calling it a sustainable financing model that aligns with the federal government's education reform agenda. He encouraged other universities to implement similar funding initiatives during the fund's inauguration in Benin.
Leadership (NG)·July 5, 2026 at 2:42 PM